Wednesday, November 17, 2010

...FEATURING Norah Jones {Music Review}

Norah Jones' new album …Featuring is in stores today! The album is a star-studded collection of the multi-platinum selling, multi-Grammy Award winning singer’s musical collaborations from the past decade.

The 18 songs on the album include cool cameos, collaborations and duets with such legends as Ray Charles, Willie Nelson, and Dolly Parton, and with 21st Century icons from OutKast to the Foo Fighters. The album spans Norah’s entire career and reveal her astonishing musical versatility, from jazz to country, hip-hop to rock.

Check out the video for the Making of ...Featuring here.

For the latest news, tour dates and more, check out Norah's website, Facebook and You Tube Channel.

...Featuring Track Listing:
1. Love Me – The Little Willies
2. Virginia Moon – The Foo Fighters featuring Norah Jones
3. Turn Them – Sean Bones featuring Norah Jones
4. Baby It's Cold Outside – Willie Nelson featuring Norah Jones
5. Bull Rider – Norah Jones and Sasha Dobson
6. Ruler Of My Heart – Dirty Dozen Brass Band featuring Norah Jones
7. The Best Part – El Madmo
8. Take Off Your Cool – OutKast featuring Norah Jones
9. Life Is Better – Q-Tip featuring Norah Jones
10. Soon The New Day – Talib Kweli featuring Norah Jones
11. Little Lou, Prophet Jack, Ugly John – Belle & Sebastian featuring Norah Jones
12. Here We Go Again – Ray Charles featuring Norah Jones
13. Loretta – Norah Jones featuring Gillian Welch and David Rawlings
14. Dear John – Ryan Adams featuring Norah Jones
15. Creepin' In – Norah Jones featuring Dolly Parton
16. Court & Spark – Herbie Hancock featuring Norah Jones
17. More Than This – Charlie Hunter featuring Norah Jones
18. Blue Bayou – Norah Jones featuring M. Ward

My review:
When Norah Jones hit song came out a few years ago, I instantly loved it - the song drew me in.  So, when I was offered the opportunity to review her new cd "Featuring" it seemed pretty much a proven fact that I would like it.  Boy, was I wrong - I LOVED IT!  Not only do I love it, but both of my daugthers love it to.  At 4 and 8, they definitely know what kind of music is good and which is bad.  This cd was definitely a hit!  Norah Jones has a voice of beauty.  Her voice is unlike any out there - different in a very good way.  I can't even begin to describe it, just that each song is different.  The sounds that come from her voice are legendary.  I wish I could sing as good as her.  The venue of music is from jazz, to hip hop to country, to blues - it puts you in so many different moods, all good and positve.  From one song, while listening you almost feel like sitting back, lighting some candles and sipping on a glass of wine, to wanting to watch Christmas movies (Baby It's Cold Outside), to getting up and dancing to relaxing in a bubble bath.  The songs are awesome and geared toward not one specific age group.  This cd will be a GREAT holiday present to any and all.

Disclosure:  I received this cd through my membership with One2One Network.  No monetary was given.

No comments: